“The Ledges,” one of the most impressive estates on the East Coast of America, is the crown jewel of Newport’s seaside community. This spectacular home is ideally located on a 35-acre point between Bailey’s Beach Club and Hazard/Gooseberry Beaches. The property has breathtaking views from every angle; surrounded by pristine undeveloped land that includes a dramatic rocky coastline, private coved beaches, secluded treed areas, and sprawling green lawns and fields that flow naturally towards the rich blue Atlantic Ocean.
The 8-bedroom house was recently renovated but remains a testament to old New England charm. The interior of the house has ocean views from every room, featuring a magnificent living room, library, dining room, enclosed porch/dining area, kitchen and pantry and front hall with lovely murals painted by famed New England artist Howard Cushing. The upstairs can sleep up to 15 people comfortably, with three double bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and 4 double bedrooms with access to three bathrooms. A single room, a unique dressing room adjoining the master bedroom and staff quarters are also located on the top floors.
Direct TV, air-conditioned rooms, Wi-Fi throughout the house and an extensive library, all provide a relaxed and enjoyable stay. The property also has two full-time workmen and its own greenhouse with fresh flowers.
The Ledges is ideal for families and entertaining, its unbeatable location and beautiful picturesque views along with its extensive size, creates a justified sense of seclusion and serenity. It is the ultimate house for a peaceful and relaxing summer, an experience to be remembered. Rarely available for rent as historically its few clients have come back year after year, this special place is now available for the first time in seven years.
Decades before the Gilded Age “cottages” arrived on Bellevue Avenue and the Ocean Drive, The Ledges was commissioned by Robert Maynard Cushing, on a spectacular setting overlooking the Atlantic on the rocky shoreline from Bailey’s beach to Gooseberry beach, all of which was farmland at the time, used for grazing sheep. Built in 1867, The Ledges was artfully designed by John Hubbard Sturgis, a Boston-based architect who was well regarded for having designed other Newport houses, including Land’s End for the fellow Bostonian Samuel Gary Ward, built in 1864-65; and Frederick William Rhinelander’s house on Redwood Street, built in 1863-64, and now part of the Redwood Library. His work was published in the American Architect and Building News, and he was Richard Morris Hunt’s main architectural rival in Newport. He was a member and a Fellow of the American Institute of Architects (FAIA) from 1864 until his death in 1888.
After more than a century, The Ledges still belongs to the Cushing family, whose descendants have long been prominent members of Newport community. In recent years careful restoration has been carried out to repair the structure, upgrading the systems, painting and decorating the house, while using best practices in historic preservation.